Broken and Screwed Series: Review

Broken and Screwed Series: ReviewBroken and Screwed by Tijan
Series: The BS Series
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform on 2013-07-26
Pages: 260

Alexandra's older brother died the night he graduated. That day changed everything for her. No longer was she the party girl. No longer did she care about being popular and no longer was her family the happy unit she always thought existed. The only person who could help her heal is the same person who loved her brother as much as she did, his best friend. She only hopes to keep her entire heart from breaking when Jesse will move on, and she knows he will.

After Ethan died, Jesse excelled at basketball, partying, and girls. He used it all to turn his emotions off, but the irony was that Alex was the only person who could do that for him. She helped him forget, but she was the one person he shouldn't be with because the secrets he knows could shatter everything. They could shatter her.

Leary says…

I fell in love with Tijan while reading her Fallen Crest High series, I kept putting off reading more of her books because I knew I would INHALE them…I needed to spread them out so I could enjoy Tijan for longer! Seven months later, I finally decided it was time to pick up the Broken and Screwed series. I was correct in my original assessment, I INHALED this series!! This is going to be different from my norm, I’m going to give you my thoughts on the entire series rather than doing separate reviews.

I had absolutely no clue what was going to come next throughout each of the books, there are so many secrets and MANY unknowns. I was questioning so much throughout the series that my mind was seriously all over the place; does Jesse love Alex, he Jesse just using her, Alex’s brother really die in a simple car accident or is there way more to this than we know, why do Alex’s parents treat her like shit, why does Alex keep going back to Jesse….SEE…SOOO many questions!!! It’s a clear sign of a great book; you never know where the author is going to take you and the characters.

I was on a complete rollercoaster through every turn of the page. I felt badly for Alex and everything that she has gone through, her brother died and with his death she also lost Jesse (her brother’s best friend) who grew up with them and lived in their house most of the time. Not only was he her brother’s best friend; he was also her crutch and her biggest crush. Alex’s parents have basically forgotten that she exists and leaves her to fend for herself. The only intimacy and comfort that she ever feels is when Jesse decides she can exist in his life for a night. These nights are always on nights that mean something to the memory of her brother, they connect with each other to try to mask the hurt they are feeling over the loss. On top of all of this, the poor girl has the WORST friends ever!!

“Jesse hated me. He needed me on the nights when neither of us could escape Ethan’s ghost, but the next morning would be another story.”

“I wasn’t able to walk away. One day I knew I would. I knew I’d be strong enough to leave the shelter he gave me, but not that day, not at that minute.”

There are numerous times that I wanted to shake Alex and turn and punch Jesse in the face but then I also wanted to fight for them to get all the secrets out, for my questions to be answered and for Jesse to PLEASE, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD LOVE ALEX AND BE TOGETHER!!! Grrrrrrr…I had so much hatred and love for Jesse. I felt torn throughout so much of the first book and was finally able to breathe a bit during the second book, just a little bit though. My questions went unanswered for awhile, I was getting a bit uneasy but I was completely happy in the end.

“I’m sick of feeling, Alex. Only you. No other girl makes me feel this shit I don’t want to.”

As you can tell, this series had my heart and my head in a complete twist. I didn’t know what was up from down and what was love from lust. I absolutely loved the rollercoaster that Tijan took me on, she has such a way of creating characters and situations that we absolutely loathe but can’t help fighting for a happily ever after. If you haven’t read any books by Tijan, I highly recommend that you do!!

There is a book 3 in the Broken & Screwed series, it hasn’t come out yet and I don’t know of a release date yet but I do have to let you know that it is NOT about Jesse and Alex!!

Buy Broken & Screwed

Broken & Screwed • Broken & Screwed 2

Buy Fallen Crest Series (Totally loved this series too, I highly recommend it)

Book 1: Fallen Crest High • Book 2: Fallen Crest Family • Book 3: Fallen Crest Public





About Tijan

Tijan started writing later in life, after she had already graduated college with a different direction in mind and a different degree under her belt. Hitting the brakes on that path, she taught herself how to write a good book and began posting at sites such as Fictionpress, along with Wattpad. After receiving such encouraging messages from readers, she self-published Fallen Crest High and has continued throughout the year. She continues to keep writing NA books!