Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne: Review

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne: ReviewBlurred Lines by Lauren Layne
on August 25, 2015
Genres: Love & Romance

In a novel that's perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they're still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland's trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker's boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben's no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can't seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker's ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can't go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.



Alexis says…

Blurred Lines ponders the questions, can a boy and girl be best friends?

Ben and Parker have been best buds since college…platonic best buds.  They live together, they carpool together, they literally do pretty much everything together.  Parker has her somewhat dull boyfriend, Lance of five years, and Ben is living the bachelor lifestyle to the max.

When Parker is dumped by said boring boyfriend, she decides to throw caution at the wind and take Ben’s views on dating (hookups strictly).  After some thought and putting herself out there a bit, she decides that maybe she should enter into a strict hook-up/friends with benefits situation with Ben.  After a discussion, Ben is completely onboard when they share a very smoking-hot kiss.  Can their boundaries stay intact and neither of them form actual feelings for each other?

Nope, not going to answer that question above. But I will say…I loved the premise of the storyline as well as the execution.  The actual writing of the book was completely spot-on which made me not able to put this book down just as much as the actual story.  I rooted for Ben and Parker from the get-go and wanted them to realize that they were totally right for each other. I also wanted to wring Parker’s neck along the way until she realized the path she was going down was not really the right decision.

Blurred Lines was told in dual POV which as you know is my favorite. And…I have to say that I absolutely, hands down am so happy that we got to read Ben’s thoughts along the way. I think it made you fall even more in love with the guy.

If you are looking for a fabulous friends-to-lovers story, than definitely pick this one up!

signature-alexis

11034229_804960319623418_3309626790356408891_n

About Lauren Layne

Lauren Layne used to work in e-commerce. She wore cute shoes and real-person clothes like an adult.

Then she was like, nope, changed into her pajamas and started writing romance novels.

She believes in sarcasm, weekday happy hours, and happily ever after.

She lives in the Seattle-area with her husband and jumbo Pomeranian.